Relocately

based on 38 reviews

Planning:

Price:

Quality:

Communication:

Rated with an average

5.3

Get in touch


10245 Berlin
Germany
+49 (159) 0444 9695

https://app.relocately.com/

Recent reviews

Bevan Smith

"Unfortunate we chose Relocately because it has turned"

13 November 2019

Our container is at our destination port incurring charges daily because Relocately wont release the BL. WE HAVE PAID THE SHIPPING TWICE. This is Criminal!!!
Relocately declare Bankruptcy halfway through our shipping. We are told that our shipping and insurance payments are not valid and that we have to pay again, so we payed the shipping again. We email selin.goecmen@relocately.com + everybody else everyday ,with no answer. BE HUMANE show compassion..Answer us pls

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Nick

"A mistake."

10 November 2019

My experience: choosing Relocately was a terrible mistake. As the other reviews indicate, the company has now gone into administration. If that were not enough, there is no transparency about what is happening and it is impossible to get clear and reliable information from the Relocately staff. If I could go back in time, I would have chosen a reputable moving company instead of Relocately. I have nothing but regret in choosing Relocately.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Morgane

"A nightmare"

04 November 2019

Relocately is just a nightmare and big Lyers.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

simon

"Unorganized"

04 November 2019

Where to start… Well I got an email today which I will Just post here

“Dear Customer,
Due to the most recent happenings and Relocately’s preliminary insolvency filing, Relocately and our insurance provider, Schunck, have looked into your insurance booking as part of your overseas move.
If you moved in at your final destination already and have filed an insurance claim, this insurance claim is unfortunately not covered. However, if you have claimed any damages these can be claimed and filed under Relocately’s general liability of a moving company (Verkehrshaftung). In this case, all damages would be limited to a maximum of €620 per cubic meter and only the present value of the goods can be considered. If your damages were filed already, our insurance provider will get in touch with you in the upcoming weeks.
In addition to the aforementioned information, all claims in regard to Relocately’s preliminary insurance filing are not covered by Schunck’s insurance offerings. Moreover, if you have moved-in at your final destination already and have claimed a damage you will be able to claim the paid amount for the insurance and become one of Relocately’s creditors once the official insolvency filing has started – at latest by 1.1.2020.
Again, we are very sorry for this bad news and thank you for your understanding.
If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us.
With best regards”

Now this is a major pissoff to my wife and I as we paid quite a substantial amount for the insurance, and we do infact have damaged furniture. We had decided to not make any claims as I am a tradesman and am able to repair most things on my own.

Furthermore they used a sub-par moving company to pack my goods. Knowing what volume container I needed to ship all my household Items from Germany to Canada, all my goods were “overpacked” i.e lots of air space in the boxes. For example my kitchen chairs were each put into a large box, then covered with a other large box and taped in the middle. The giant spaces of air were stuffed with paper… Now I’ve worked at a moving company so I’m not just blowing hot air here, this was bad packing. Long story short they needed to order a larger container on short notice costing me another 700€. Not only that, the people packing our flat dragged the boxes along the floor damaging the hardwood, which I had to financially take care of with the flat owners at my own expense.

My experience when I got to my destination was not much better. They wait till the last possible second to give you the documents to get your container out of the port, knowing that you are most likely going to have to pay a holding fee while you clear customs. Not only that but I opted to empty the container with a few friends in which they only give you two hours to do, thankfully I had four of my really big friends helping me and we got it done in an hour because the truck was an hour late.

All in all it cost us over 10K€, and with this latest news we are starting to feel like we got totally ripped off. I’m not the type to complain but I could go on and on and on… Long story short, I can see why Relocately had to file for insolvency. I would recommend another company in any case.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Daniel Kocks

"Our move was a nightmare....."

01 November 2019

Do NOT use this company. Most information they provided was inaccurate. They made numerous errors costing us time and money. Their mistake delayed our shipment and in the end, they held our shipment hostage until we paid them more money.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Wallace

"Absolutely terrible move with negligent company."

01 November 2019

Relocately seemed like a good option at first. Everything appeared super organized and things should go very smoothly. Then everything changed the day that I paid for everything. They no longer returned my calls or emails regarding my move and refused to confirm my payment to them. Things went bad to worse when after waiting months for my belongings to be shipped the company went bankrupt. They claim that all of their accounts are frozen and they cannot pay any of their contractors. If I want to get my stuff back I now have to pay all their overdue bills and then can either move forward with them if I pay twice or choose another company. The best part is that if I want to move forward with them then the amount I must pay them is increasing each time I receive a quote. Speaking with people there their plan is to accept new customers in order to pay for the expenses of past customers because all of their investors stopped funding the company. Classic pyramid scheme. The best part is that they recently put out ads looking for new back end developers to work on their website despite claiming not to have enough money to pay their current employees. The same people are still in charge after all of this too.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Jan Albien

"Germany to Australia - not again with relocately"

01 November 2019

— this company declared insolvency !!! —

We booked the service of this company to move our household from Germany to Australia.
First telephone appointment for assessment and open questions was friendly and professional. Also the upfront paperwork and help to prepare for the big day of moving was very helpful.

HOWEVER, it all changed as soon as we confirmed to go with them and paid all the costs. Suddenly it took around 2 weeks to get questions answered via email (in the shortest and briefest manner).
Eventually our belongings arrived mostly in good condition. However again, claiming damages and unperformed services turned out to be lengthy and nerve-racking. Getting in contact of course didn’t get easier. Damages were paid through the insurance company, still waiting for the reimbursement for unperformed services.
Recently, we finally received an email again: The company declared insolvency. The reimbursement can be claimed to the insolvency administrators, so maybe we get the money in two years.

Although moving with relocately started promising and gave us a good feeling we do not recommend to go with this company, especially since their insolvency.
Worst thing: they still seem to operate and don’t put any find of indication on their homepage!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

schuerrer

"insolvable elle prend encore des contrats, a fuire"

30 October 2019

Voyage France/ Montréal pour une famille de 5, toutes nos affaires sont bloquées dans le contair. Relocately est en procédure judiciaire, elle fait payer deux fois les clients pour acheminer leurs biens. Les prestataires ( le nôtre n’est pas payé depuis le mois d’aôut) et l’entreprise continue à être active sur son site et à prendre de nouveaux clients. Une honte

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Chris Mueller

"Zurich - Miami"

23 October 2019

Our container was picked up the day the company filed for bankruptcy – on Sunday evening (six days later) I got the e-mail telling us about the situation and asking for an urgent reply so the insolvency administrator can invoice us again for the seafreight – the container should arrive Nov 4. I mailed them three times, no response whatsoever, and of course the phone lines are not answered either. If anyone has contact infos that work, would appreciate it (blackberry.chm@gmail.com).
We have confirmed that our container is on board and now on its way to the East Coast, I even know which company handles the seafreight but no response from them either…

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Izabela Zammit

"Lost for words"

22 October 2019

Hi, We have just learned that Relocated went bancrupt and that it is now down to us to pay AGAIN for the customs clearance of our shipment as well as the final delivery.
What to do next? We definetely do not want to pay twice for the shipment we have already paid for.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Galen Milne-Hines

"Ongoing nightmare"

21 October 2019

You probably have figured out by now that Relocately suddenly went bankrupt (insolvency) in or around October 20th, 2019. A lot of people are getting screwed over. Details still to emerge but seemingly the company cannot legally or financially afford to pay any of the contractors/partners/companies involved in the actual shipment along the way, meaning they have no choice but to ask their own customers to pay for their own stuff to hopefully continue through the process of arriving with added holding fees and all sorts of nonsense. A real nightmare. If you are affected, I started a group on Facebook called Relocately Insolvency Recovery Initiative (RIRI).

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

N. De Groef

"Promising start with disappointing finish"

20 October 2019

Initially, communication with Relocately was continuous and flexible. We certainly got the impression that they knew what they were doing and that they were helping us each and every step of the way to make sure all steps were completed in a timely fashion. As soon as the payment was made, communication dropped off completely and the online tracking is showing that our shipment hasn’t even left the departure city (Antwerp) more than one month following pick-up. We have arrived in our destination city (Montreal) one week ago and have just learned today about Relocately filing for insolvency. They claim the shipment will not be sent on its way unless we pay again for a service we had already paid for, as their assets are frozen and therefore cannot pay their sub-contractors. Similarly, we will need to pay again for services rendered on the destination side, despite the fact that we paid for a door-to-door service, and are informed that we can claim back this double payment from their insolvency lawyer later. I am contacting the ECC regarding this matter to know where we stand and what we can or should do.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

simon

"Nightmare"

20 October 2019

Relocately.com has declared bankruptcy. They have not paid their partner company in Canada. I was told by the Canadian company that they would not release my shipment unless I pay them. I did not except something like this to happen with a German company. This is an ultimate frustration, because I have already paid the total fee for my shipment from Germany to Canada (door-to-door) already 4 months ago, yet I have not received my goods, and now I should pay extra fee.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Beat Jauch

"Schweiz - Brasilien"

18 October 2019

Finger weg!! Seit 14.10.2019 bei Amtsgericht Charlottenburg Berlin ein Insolvenzverfahren eingeleitet

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

van leeuwen

"Very bad experience with many additional costs"

14 October 2019

We’ve moved from Brussels to Asia and we choose Relocately because of positive feedback. But overall, we were very disappointed in this company. It is true that at the start, Relocately is very active and helps you a lot to answer all questions but once the contract is signed we’ve experienced very lazy service, it really felt as they did not care that much anymore after the deal was made. This means that several additional costs were added for services we’ve never signed for or agreed on, there was lots of misunderstanding on delivery in Asia. The most annoying thing was that Relocately did neve respond to our calls or messages, it was very difficult to get in touch to discuss pending points and calls were just rejected while I do think that with just a few calls all problems could have been avoided. All with all, disappointing service and I would not recommend.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Kate

"International move from Berlin to California"

14 October 2019

We moved a 2 bedroom apartment from Berlin Germany to Davis California using Relocately. We were of course nervous given that some reviews have been negative (though it seems literally every moving company in the world has negative reviews) so I waited until after our stuff finally arrived in Davis to write this. But our stuff just arrived yesterday and I have to say the whole move went so super smoothly. Relocately handled getting local movers to pack our stuff in Berlin, get it on a ship and then have it arrive and get unloaded at our new California place.

I think the key is getting an accurate inventory assessment and getting your paperwork in on time so that way you are not surprised by extra charges. I communicated extensively with Alex about this, and he was local so was able to even stop by our place in Berlin to walk through the inventory with us and so there were no unexpected charges. The movers that packed up our stuff in Berlin were extraordinarily professional and efficient. I can say nothing but good things about them! Everything was packed very carefully and securely and they were done in no time. We had a private container luckily so we didn’t have to wait on other folks to get their stuff loaded in the container, so our container was able to get on a ship ASAP and it arrived in CA 6 weeks later (it was also really fun to track the ship’s progress online). Then on the American side, Jasmin communicated with us about having our stuff delivered, which happened exactly as planned with no delay. We had one small damage to a mattress but honestly considering the extent of the move, I think we made out really well!

I will also say that we ended up using Relocately because they had the lowest quote out of three companies we talked to, so they delivered on price too.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Facebook Profile photo

Sév Brieu

"HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE FROM FRANCE TO LOS ANGELES"

30 September 2019

J’ai fait confiance à une compagnie pour laquelle j’avais lu de bons avis. A se demander s’ils sont exacts ont commandés.
La personne que j’ai eue au téléphone a toujours été très insistante pour que nous passions par eux et pour percevoir le paiement en intégralité d’un seul coup. Personne n’est venu chez nous pour nous conseiller. Tout se fais via vidéo pendant 2H.
Nos affaires ont été emballées et emmenées plus d’un mois avant l’embarquement. Une fois le bateau arrivé, là c’est quasiment deux mois d’attente pour se faire livrer. Relocately ne suit pas ses dossiers et c’est nous qui devons l’informer des dysfonctionnements!? Jamais ils ne cherchent les infos pour vous informer et vous rassurer. On est bien loin du relais max annoncé. Seul point positif : Les affaires ont été bien emballées et tout est arrivé presque sans casse.
En résumé, passez par une compagnie plus sérieuse si pouvez.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Charles Elliott

"Efficient, timely, and affordable- awesome service!"

23 September 2019

I’m still waiting for my shipment to arrive in the US, however Anich and his team have gone above and beyond every step of the way. I needed to relocate back to the US from Germany very quickly and the move was organized within a week. My items were carefully packed and transported from my Berlin flat and I am sure will arrive in Montana in great condition. I couldn[t be happier.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Marcia Janzen

"no move is easy. But some movers can help you make it easier"

20 September 2019

Christian Amegayibor gave me an amazing support, really gave me all answers and tried to make everything as good as possible.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Laurent Rigaudeau

"Très bonne communication avec Marie Gilles."

18 September 2019

Rien à dire. Tout est excellent. Marie Gilles une perle qui devrait avoir une promotion.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Philippe C.

"Relocation from Paris to Las Vegas"

17 September 2019

Excellent service so far. Very professional team. Marie has been very responsive and was able to address all my questions very quickly. Waiting for the delivery of my furniture now.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Jessica Bates

"My Relocately Agent, Christian, was a DREAM to work with!"

13 September 2019

I have moved internationally before, so I went into the process quite apprehensively, due to a previous experience with another company. Relocately, and especially my moving agent, Christian, quickly eased my mind. The communication was easy and effortless. Christian was super friendly and informative, and honestly seemed to have my best interests in mind during a stressful time.

After a very helpful initial phone call, he scheduled a video conference with me to help determine the approximate size of my shipment and was efficient in doing so. Throughout the moving process, he frequently sent me whatsapp reminders and updates. On top of that, I had some special requests that he handled easily over email. Rolocately seemed to be a fool-proof process for me sending me emails linked to user-friendly interfaces (in my native language of English!) where I could complete checklists of the required documentation. This was really helpful!

The movers themselves were also amazing upon arrival. Things got packed carefully and efficiently. On moving day, they even helped me find my passport (which I had carelessly left on the coffee table under a stack of magazines). I was in a panic about having lost it and they stayed calm, helping me sift through every item until it was found it.

My moving agent, Christian, followed up on several occasions while my stuff was in transit, and contacted the state side company when I had a question about the arrival date. I haven’t yet unpacked all my boxes, but so far, everything appears to be fully intact.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Audrey Coquery

"Déménagement en cours"

31 August 2019

Pour l’instant je ne peux parler que du départ, mes affaires étant encore en stockage. Très satisfaite de ma concierge Marie Gilles qui a passé beaucoup de temps à planifier avec moi et à toujours été présente pour répondre à mes questions. L’équipe de l’enlèvement était sympathique, dynamique et efficace. Des gens humains et compréhensifs. Nous attendons maintenant le grand voyage de France vers Vancouver. Marie continue de nous accompagner avec sérieux et bienveillance.
Je rédigerai un autre avis à l’arrivée.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Michel Gamache

"France/Québec"

18 July 2019

Premiere partie du voyage du “container” gérée par une interlocutrice dédiée hors-paire, Marie GILLES.
Son impact & son implication dans les démarches administratives ont été essentiels, la logistique informatique de Relocately GmbH n’étant pas toujours performante ou plutôt pas limpide dans les documents à envoyer (difficultés de transfert) .
il faut vraiment reconnaitre que Marie GILLES a maintenu par téléphone et par email une coordination sans faille et à amené un climat serein de confiance. je l’en suis gré, vivement.
Je manquerai pas d’ajouter un second commentaire sur la partie réception du container à Montréal, avec le prestataire canadien, qui ne devrait pas poser de problème en particulier.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

alistair cole

"from Brittany, France to Hong Kong"

11 July 2019

Very smooth and ably assisted by Adelaide

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

simon

"Geneva to the United States - A COMPLETE DISASTER"

02 July 2019

We originally chose Relocately based off of a recommendation from someone in Geneva, Switzerland. We were relocating back to the US.

If I could give 0 stars, I would have. Form start to finish, this experience has been more than a nightmare. The crew picked our furniture up with no issue and everything seemed great. However, we were deciding where hoe base would be in the states and were considering two locations. Our items were in Germany awaiting the ship to fill. We were not told there was a date by which we needed to decide the location and the date passed. Our moving manager, Cheyenne, neglected to tell us of this deadline, but she sure sent a bill for late charges very quickly.

Once our items arrived in the US to NYC, we informed them we would be settling in Colorado. they set u shipment and we gave them all the necessary info. Move in day came and they arrived to the wrong city, changed our items from an 18 wheeler to a van and charged us 500$ to do so. We informed them that an 18 wheeler was able to be accommodated at our move in location. They still insist we pay for this, which we are now disputing in a civil case.

Additionally, three of our big items were damaged and dealing with the insurance company has also been less than savory.

We moved in December 2018, and we are still dealing with this nightmare of a company. Save yourself a head ache and STAY AWAY FROM RELOCATELY.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Facebook Profile photo

Mat Chon

"Desastre !"

01 July 2019

Pas de gestion des plannings. Lorsque le devis est signé, plus de contacts et charges des frais de stationnement à l’arrivée ! Bref pour une solution clé en main et sur mesure c’est raté !

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

simon

"very bad experience"

17 June 2019

I would totally NOT recommend this company and even less their partner company Elishar in Argentina. Relocately wanted to charge me more as they said I would have shipped more that we had agreed on, but I told the packers and the company that I wouldn’t want to ship more in any case. Drama then began in Argentina, where the boat arrived late, that’s why I suddenly had to pay a huge amount of tax and tax deposit in Buenos Aires, although they had told me I would not have to pay any taxes when we set up the contract. Then the Argentinian company offered me to lower the price if I would pay bribery. I neglected that and in the end I had to communicate with the tax and tax deposit departments myself to lower this crazy amount of money I would have had to pay. In the end they didn’ t even get back to me with a single mail or call. Don’t use this company!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Amit

"Germany to USA"

26 May 2019

Dishonest company who will rob you. Will quote you, pick ur stuff, ask for for money, hold your stuff unless you pay the money. Will not reply if you send email. Please don’t do business with them.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Jen DuBois

"Reliable and less expensive than competitors"

15 May 2019

This company’s agent was flexible in terms of answering a lot of questions, waiting for our timeline, quoting to our changing needs. Their local Swiss agent is solid as is their LAX agent. The shipment was efficient, with nothing lost or broken. Highly recommend.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Anne Lever

"Shitfully dishonest"

03 May 2019

They quoted, took my money, sent packers, kept my goods for 6 weeks until they could find something to share my goods back to Australia. Then they said the prices went up and they had to charge me more. They said I had more stuff than quoted for so it was my fault. Their packers packed into big boxes so I had no call on this. Then they wanted to charge me an extra €700 plus fee.

Totally dishonest company I would not recommend. I am still waiting for my goods and am really pissed off.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Bezuidenhoudt

"Loss of goods due to underquoting and slackness in packing"

04 September 2018

The service was excellent until we made the payment and everything went downhill from there. It was more difficult to make contact with them after we paid them. The packers did not speak any language that we could understand so communication on the packing day was obviously very difficult. It seemed as if the packers never got any training as they were very slack in packing. So much so that 5m2 of our belongings did not fit into the container and so we had to find a way of getting rid of precious belongings! This was our third international move and definitely the worst. We will not recommend Relocately to anyone!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

David Palmer

02 May 2018

The guys were great picking stuff up and I have been kept well informed of the progress of the shipment.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Valerie Schmid

01 January 2018

Packing excelent although we had quite a bit more and not easy to pack. In spite of the snow tru k was on time

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Hye Jeong Park

30 August 2017

Relocately contacted me very fast and assisted me very well with organizing my move.
I was not quite satisfied with the movers, though, because they were not professionally best prepared. For example, they did not bring electronic drivers, which added extra time to dismantling the funiture and they did not bring any small boxes which led to exceed my estimated volume and quotation. They were very friendly, though. But getting the job neatly done is a different question.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Attila Kovacs

25 May 2017

Very good experience from the beginning until then end! Professional and caring with awesome customer service (Andre). I would recommend The Relocately to anyone as they are truly with you along the journey.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Margaret McLellan

11 May 2017

The furniture has not yet arrived. Should be here within the next two weeks. However, all went well from the beginning, and it will probably be the same when it gets here.
Thanks, Margaret

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Steve Bensch

20 March 2017

Very helpful! Awesome staff. Would do it again!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication