Simpsons Removals & Storage Ltd

based on 31 reviews

Planning:

Price:

Quality:

Communication:

Rated with an average

4.5

Get in touch

Blue Hawk House, A1 Manor Way Business Park, Manor Way, Swanscombe, Dartford
DA10 0PP Swanscombe, Kent
United Kingdom
0044 13 22 38 69 69

http://www.simpsons-uk.com/

Recent reviews

Gina Holland

"Horrible"

28 August 2019

Company take a deposit and never come back to me! No moving and no deposit back

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

GORDON AMBIDGE

"Disastrous"

21 February 2019

Simpsons changed collection date from Spain at the last minute causing major disruption. Subsequently my furniture and possessions have been in their storage facility in Kent for over 3 months waiting for them to fill a container to ship to Thailand. I have had arguments over excess volume charges and the latest information from one of their employees is that the container is now full and they are waiting until their budget is available to ship. Collection was on November 12th and my goods are still in Kent and I have had to borrow furniture in Thailand until mine arrives. Couldn’t be more dissatisfied

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

GORDON AMBIDGE

"A TOTAL SHAMBLES"

18 December 2018

TRANSPORTING FURNITURE FROM SPAIN TO THAILAND. MOVERS AGREED DATE AND THEN CHANGED IT AS ORIGINAL DATE DIDNT SUIT THEIR SCHEDULE SO I HAD TO CHANGE MY FLIGHT. WE THEN HAD A DISPUTE OVER THE COST OF EXCESS VOLUME, STILL ONGOING. THEY NOW TELL ME THEY CANT FIND CUSTOMERS TO COMPLETE CONTAINER LOAD SO I CAN WAIT INDEFINATELY FOR THEM TO ACHIEVE THIS OR PAY EXTRA FOR ALTERNATIVE SHIPPING METHOD. I TOLD THEM UP FRONT I NEEDED FURNITURE IN MID FEBRUARY WHICH THEY SAID WAS NO PROBLEM, NOW IT IS STUCK IN THEIR WAREHOUSE IN KENT AND I HAVE NO IDEA HOW OR WHEN I WILL RECEIVE IT. THE LACK OF PROFESSIONALISM BY THIS COMPANY HAS BEEN STAGGERING AND THEY DONT SEEM TO CARE. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS OUTFIT TO ANYONE

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

simon Ford

"Misleading with Hidden costs"

05 November 2018

Asked for 2 quotes, 10 box and 20 box, paid for deposit for 20 box but only used 10…. they charged me for the 20 box quote and made up reasons why the 10 box delivery now costs the same as the 20 box quote… they are full of SH@T.

service pre collection was proactive when asking for the money but poor when providing paperwork, responding to queries and confirming recept of documents.

Currently in discussions as to pricing and not getting a satisfactory response, I have been asking for a cost breakdown to confirm the price to see why 10 box cost the same as 20 box…. they don’t provide the detail just demand money.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

ZsG

"UK to Switzerland, 2 bedroom house move"

04 September 2018

Our first experience of international relocation.

Pick-up and delivery staff were great, quick, careful and courteous. Communication with office staff was patchy; would have liked to receive confirmation of receipt of our messages at least. We were told that one weeks’ notice is sufficient for arranging delivery to CH; having given 2 weeks notice, we were told that delivery was likely to take place in 5 weeks’ time. This was eventually brought forward to 4 weeks from request.

We packed everything ourselves and apart from a few mugs broken everything arrived in good condition, so we were very happy with that.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Sylvie Jucobin

02 February 2018

The worst moving company we ever employed. Antique furnitures were smashed to pieces, staff was lazy and rude, we didn’t got the service we were charged for. We even had to unload the trucks ourselves.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Joseph Kelly

21 January 2018

Excellent service from start to finish – very professional. Would highly recommend.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Gregoire Sulmont

16 January 2018

No problem. As promised.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Dr Damian Scott Langley

29 November 2017

Gives false promises to secure sale then ignores 70-80% of all complaint emails and calls (whoever is dealing with your account isn’t in or a "director ").
OVER TWO months after collection apartment contents still languishing in UK.
Also had 500 GBP stealth charge after collection after an inspector "accurately "assessed apartment contents.
Whenever complaining you get the standard response that if you’re not happy get another company to collect goods from their depot.
Apallingfalse advertising of 8-max 12 weeks to secure the sale.
Worst company I’ve ever dealt with in decades.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS. It’s well worth paying more and avoiding this nightmare

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Ilona

20 November 2017

Terrible service

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Edward Laughlan

07 November 2017

Sadly they held on to our furniture for 37 days before delivery (although their base is only one hours drive from our house). They delivered a broken table and a smashed up writing bureau (handed over to me in 4 separate pieces) – and ‘lost’ the main section of an antique wardrobe that was very precious to us and which contained valuable items that are irreplaceable. We have been waiting very patiently for an explanation after phoning them on several occasions, writing emails to them which were ignored, and finally posting a letter to their owner which forced his assistant manager to contact us but with nothing of worth to say to us. We believed what they boast about themselves as a small family company that truly care about their customers and have sadly fallen victims to their absolute couldn’t care less attitude after the money has entered their bank account. I will never ever use this company again and will do all I can to let as many people know via social media. Sad u use them!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Niki Jones

30 October 2017

Generally a good experience with a competitive price and good pre-sales service. Movers who came were very professional and hard-working. However the volume estimate was quite far off resulting in several hundred pounds additional payment – Simpsons could not seem to calculate one number and it took upwards of 20 emails to establish exactly what the amount was – very frustrating. In addition one piece of furniture was spilt on and damaged during transit.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Edward Laughlan

21 October 2017

An antique writing desk, was delivered in 4 separate pieces (obviously something large and heavy fell against it and wrecked it), with no explanation as to how or why! No apology, nothing! The centre piece of a valuable antique family heirloom wardrobe went missing en route and has never been found – and it contained other valuable items which we have also lost. Could it be that this missing wardrobe was the heavy item that fell against the writing desk and flattened it? This would have resulted in the probable breakage of the wardrobe mirror which would then have seriously damaged the front of the wardrobe itself as the journey continued, which could have resulted in the company deciding not to have the wardrobe delivered due to possible negative publicity. Simpsons absolutely ignore any written communication with them. They were paid in full beforehand so why should they be bothered? A serious problem within your industry! I will never ever use Ship Stuff again and will advise others

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Glenn Smart

20 October 2017

Poor. Poor communication in the latter phase; arrived a day late at destination. Ignored instructions. Lack of empathy and understanding. Neither would I recommend nor use them again.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Mrs E J Morris

16 October 2017

The booking started well and then there was confusion over the paperwork which they thought they had not received but they had. Then they tried to move the pick up date but managed to re-arrange to pick up as we had agreed. When the removers arrived it turned out Simpsons had sub contracted to Fred Phillips. The removers were great. I had agreed with Dylan at Simpsons that I would call them the day after pick up and pay the remaining balance. Obviously 2 sides of the company do not speak to each other as I got a snotty email asking me to pay before I had been told by Dylan I needed to. They apologised and I paid as agreed. They were due to deliver my furniture on 2 October but advised this was not possible and it would have to be 4th. I called Dylan on 3rd to find out what time they would arrve the next day. He told me they were travelling up that day and would be arriving between 8 and 10. No-one arrived by 10, chased no-one called back, they arrived 10.45. Customer service not good

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Ruth Coetzee

18 April 2017

Would NOT recommend this firm – 3 and a half months to get my stuff which when it finally arrived appeared to have been deliberately uneconomically packed with cartons not tightly or fully packed, items I had taken great trouble to sort into an order were separated, boxes incorrectly or inadequately marked, my possession treated little care or respect eg. my beautiful winter coats crumpled up and used as stuffing and spent tape rolls, old boxes etc thrown in with my belongings – quite disgraceful. Customer service…. what service?

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Christina Scherb

10 April 2017

We were sold a bit of a false representation by Simpsons about their US moving capabilities. They started off by saying that the maximum wait time for the shipment would be 12 weeks but now they are claiming they will not send it until the container is full- no maximum waiting time (who on earth would sign onto that?!) They also claimed it "would not be nearly that long as they ship to the US ALLLL the time" again, a complete lie as we are still waiting and it will long surpass the 12 week maximum. I wish we went with someone else!!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Graham Prentice

07 April 2017

Move itself went well. Problem was it took over 2 months from getting to their warehouse to get on a ship, it then arrived mid December and took another month to get it through customs, etc. 4 months door to door London to Perth, Australia. Absolute joke. Don’t do part container shipment with these guys.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Tony Johnson

21 March 2017

I did not move with these either however, they took a £300 deposit on 30 Jan 2017 to enable me book an 11 Feb date. When on 1 Feb, I asked for my deposit to be returned (10 days in advance of the possible move) as a result of incorrect information, they refused. I consider that to be theft and will not recommend them to anyone.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Walter Adalbert Faber

01 February 2017

Excellent communications throughout time of moving from my house/storage to the container. Staff always courteous and removal quote spot-on. (Not the cheapest,but when I saw all the awards that they’ve won I decided on them). I can definitely recommend them to anyone thinking of moving stuff overseas.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Mark Harwood

31 December 2016

Excellent packing. Courteous and professional both in the UK and the Malaysian agent.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

ila roof

16 November 2016

The initial engagement with agent was great. The pick-up was also professional. However, once I committed and paid the full bill, I noticed a severe drop off in engagement and service levels. I had to phone several times and speak with many people before I could get an answer. The process of scheduling the delivery was nightmarish. Every time I called, I got a different answer as to the process, possible dates, etc. It was so frustrating and I was in tears by the end.
The absolute worst part of the experience was the actual day of delivery. They asked me for details of the delivery property, which I very clearly provided, but yet on the day of delivery, they showed up without the appropriate vehicles, lifts, equipment. They very clearly had not read the information they themselves requested. We had to arrange for a separate vehicle and lift ourselves, which is not easy to do in a new country on your first day there! Nightmare! Do NOT use this firm!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Fred Chauffier

12 November 2016

The movers were rushed collecting and did not pack properly, had little concern for my possessions and as a result many things were broken on the way notwithstanding wrong customs forms filled resulting in a two weeks very expensive demurrage in the port of LA. I do not recommend Simpsons for international removal of quality – it is out of their league!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Geoffrey Sompayrac

18 October 2016

At first, I had chosen to go with Move24.
But then Simpsons removals’ sales called me and explained they were not a genuine removal company and that their practices did not ensure a proper and satisfactory service. After an hour on the phone, I eventually cancelled Move24 (and was then wrongly charged for it, took a month to get my money back) and opted for Simpsons.
The removers themselves were really good: polite, careful with the furniture (nothing broken) and speedy.
On the other hand, people from the head office are not even remotely concerned: they always refused to give me even a rough estimation for my delivery, out of proposing me an extra private delivery, and ignored my communications until I eventually contacted the BAR.
I would avoid these people unless making all details cristal clear before signing the contract.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Denise Sgro

08 July 2016

Perfect service. The only thing is that they could have said that there was space for some more boxes.. And the price would have been the same.
Anyway professional service. I cannot complain.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Tara Crosby

04 April 2016

Simpsons were great… cost efficient!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Elle Irwin

20 November 2015

Very professional and informative throughout the entire process. Packers on the day were a group of lovely guys who made the move very easy for us. Thanks!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Julia Lees-Cobb

19 November 2015

Was charged double the initial quote when the packers came. Arrived a day late but that was due to public holiday in France.

Main concern was the standard of furniture packing which we discovered on arrival was not satisfactory. Wooden slats on our sons cot had splinters and we are having to claim on insurance to purchase a new one.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Leeanne Fletcher

07 August 2015

I was a little disappointed that all the faacts regarding relocation was not provided to me upfront. I was in Netherlands and was on my way to Australia as all this information came to hand things got rushed and hectic and fast decisions had to be made, and maybe not the best ones!!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Jasmine Coll

04 February 2015

The actual pick up/ delivery teams were great.

The administration and flow of information from the office was poor. I was constantly having to call them to understand what was happening, if any dates had been decided etc. I got the impression, more than once, that if i hadn’t have chased, the process would not have progressed.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Stephanie Auty

27 September 2014

They initially took a second phone call to get back to me, but then were helpful with quotes. The movers showed up on time and packed everything up fine. Unfortunately, it’s now over a month since they took our stuff and we’re still waiting for confirmation that the boxes have left the UK – we were told at the beginning of the week that it should be this week but still nothing. I didn’t expect the boxes to be waiting so long before being loaded onto a ship. We’re now in Japan without much of our stuff and still probably another couple of months to wait. Simpsons had mixed reviews but were one of only 2 companies who contacted us, the other company had no reviews I could find so we went with Simpsons but I’m not completely happy with how it’s going so far.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication