Transparent International

based on 17 reviews

Planning:

Price:

Quality:

Communication:

Rated with an average

8.3

Get in touch

31-00 47th Ave #3100
11101 Long Island City, NY
United States
212 655 9799

www.movingtransparent.com

Recent reviews

Nick Kuskin

"Totally successful, top professional support at every step."

10 August 2020

I never give time to write reviews on the internet but, Jamie as my shipping agent and main contact at Transparent was superb. Communication and understanding is of course paramount with logistical projects like moving one’s furniture overseas. That’s what I had to achieve, on my own dime. He kept me completely informed, provided options when they were needed, and when hiccups happened through no one’s fault but timing, he proved solutions. Thank you, Jamie.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Facebook Profile photo

Marie Goff

"It never happened"

07 August 2020

This company told me one price for an international move, refused to share the cost per cubic foot. I had counted and measured my shipment but they inflated the price after the fact. And after sending their movers and packers they gave me an outrageous cost per cubic foot price of almost $18 cost per cubic foot.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Love Newkirk

"The move was very smooth for me. Indiana drop not!"

31 July 2020

I was in very close contact witr. Ely who was diligent in contacting and informing me along the way. As stated, it’s super unfortunate that the Indiana shipping was forgotten. Otherwise, excellent!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

David Barker

"Relatively simple"

28 June 2020

Transparent had good communication for my shipping from LA USA – UK. Overall a good experience, with many of my emails answered and timely communication.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Nicole Stewart

"Efficient and positive relocation"

30 May 2020

Fantastic work by Transparent International on my move to Europe. All my furniture and belongings were picked up and delivered efficiently and to my satisfaction. Top notch customer service. Highly recommend!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Adrien Blaikie

"Terrible - SEVEN MONTHS to get from California to AUS"

26 February 2020

Terrible – SEVEN MONTHS to get a couch, TV, bed, large framed family photos and some misc items from California to Adelaide Australia. At the recxeiving end there was no unpacking and trash removal, as included in the contract, and a smashed TV and many items covered in dirt/dust etc

During the process my phone calls were dodged, no call back to voicemails and generally crappy service.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Rob P

"Great Service"

15 February 2020

I had to relocate fairly suddenly to London, so I didn’t have much time to shop around. I went with Transparent after getting only a couple of quotes, deciding ultimately based on price and how knowledgeable/thorough the sales rep I spoke to seemed. I have to say I’m very impressed. The price was reasonable compared to the other 3 quotes I received. Very competitive. And despite my wariness, there weren’t any surprise charges at the end. My only previous moves have been pretty local, so my knowledge of the process was limited to say the least, but Steve Howard, my relocation specialist, was extremely thorough in providing information and answering my many questions. He guided me throughout the entire process, following up with me and ensuring I had taken care of necessary documentation on my end. I’d imagine a lot can go wrong with an international move, but there were no problems. Even some awkwardly shaped items I was a little worried about were wrapped and shipped securely, arriving in the UK within the estimated time frame.

Very happy with my experience

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Kathleen Andreae

"I decided not to move things this year."

25 January 2020

I decided not to move things this year. But Transparent was a great company. Gave me all the information I needed and even called me internationally to find out how things were going…

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Christopher Monaghan

"Successful shipment"

18 January 2020

I needed to ship some production equipment to Barcelona for a project. As you can imagine, it was all very valuable and fragile. I was very pleased when I learned that everything arrived in one piece and fully functional. I used the air freight option and my partner in Spain received the shipment in just over a week, well within the estimated delivery date I had been provided. Happy with the price and process. No complaints.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Stephanie Chan

"amazing service and great communication."

23 October 2019

i had spent so much time trying to find a well-reviewed company for my move from Boston to London. This was the ONLY company that did not have a single bad review. I am absolutely impressed by the entire process – the US team, the US pickup, the communication throughout, the UK dropoff, and UK storage. They were very transparent about cost and dates. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Tzila S.

"A air move to Florida"

29 April 2019

Transparency International moved me from France to Florida. I sent my boxes and a few pieces of furniture by air so they would get to me faster. My price went up after my stuff was picked up. I was expecting an increase number so it wasn’t bad but the price of the move itself was on the hi side. The good part is I got all my things with no damage and fast. I will use again when I move back to Europe.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Markus

"Normal move - went good"

25 March 2019

My move went good and how you’d expect a good move to go.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Antonio Martine

"FAST AND EFFECTIVE"

14 March 2019

Last minute shipment went super well
I made contact and was picked up and shipped out within 48 hours of my first call with the guys at transparent
So far everything’s been amazing

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Mickey

"It all went well"

20 December 2018

I moved some items from the US to London. I dont have any complaints with the way things transpired. My items were picked up when they were supposed to. They were loaded onto a boat 2 weeks later and I received them approximately 6 weeks after that. Overall good experience and I fortunately do not have anything to complain about thankfully. Thanks to everyone at transparent for making this a smooth move for me.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Funke

"Move OF 2 bed apartment from Tampa FL to the UK"

26 October 2018

Where to begin! This was not great from the start. They emailed me the UK HMRC TOR (Transfer of Residence) form which allows me to ship my residential belongings without paying import tax, I missed the link in the email because there was a lot of other information in the same email, and for 2 months even when they didn’t get this important information required for shipment into the UK, they never chased it up. I eventually found out I needed the form myself by going on the UK government website (due to frustration from lack of communication) and searching for what the import requirements are. I asked Transparent Intl, only to be told by Transparent intl, they had sent me the form early on, which is fair, but why they did not chase it up when the information wasn’t sent is beyond me! Then the company messed up my moving date, they called me on the afternoon of the supposed day they thought I was moving to tell me they won’t be able to make it, I had to inform them that it was the next day they were supposed to move me, they apologized in a phew manner and said they’d arrive before midday the following day. They came late on the actual date of the move and I missed my apartment checkout time, which cost me $100s of dollars in extra fees. My pick up date was 08/23/2018, today as I am writing this review is the 11/26/2018 and I still haven’t received my things (yes you read that right, 3 months and counting). Apparently, my things finally left the port of Miami on 11/22/2018, that’s 3 months after pick up, so here’s hoping it all arrives in good shape.
Communication has been very poor, I had to chase up for every single update I got, I felt ignored most of the time, more recently I have had better responses, but that was only after I informed them I was disappointed in them and would never recommend their service to anyone else. I only emailed them on average once every couple of weeks so I wasn’t badgering them, but it seemed it was too much to ask for regular updates.
Price: I was quoted an original price around $4500 based on a detailed inventory list, this then went up by approximately $1000 more when they got my thing and checked the volume at port. I know my shipment volume certainly didn’t increase by 20%, I didn’t argue but paid. I also had to pay very quickly because they said they would not ship my things from the USA unless the outstanding $1000 was paid first, this was after getting $4500 in hand already. As it turned out they didn’t ship my things for another 2 months and 3 weeks after that final payment. My things are now on route (I hope its true) and they have implied that I am now in the hands of the destination agents, no name given, no timescales given, nothing, just a shove off to the next company approach. My only hope is that I get my things before Xmas and I am not asked to pay some other hidden previously undisclosed fee.
They are a new company and I wanted to give them a chance, also they had so many glowing reviews. I don’t understand how, because my experience has been so poor, in hindsight I should have gone to a more established firm. Will I recommend these folks, the answer is a resounding NO! Has my experience been positive NO! Do they keep to what they say they will do on communications, pricing and shipment times, READ MY REVIEW!

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Rex WorkmanFor Shelley Bassett

12 June 2018

Great response to questions. Quote was different than I ask for seamed in to big hurry to get it right. All worked out shipment on water to Australia now ETA 6/30/18. Would use again with a much clearer quote.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication

Kathleen Scott Goldingay

16 April 2018

I was in a tight spot! We needed to move 26 boxes out of my house in California by a certain date but the couldn’t arrive at my new flat in the UK before a certain date. Transparent International took care of everything for us. It was totally smooth with no problems. They communicated what needed to happen and helped us with Customs. I am very happy. We needed two pallets for airfreight so it cost a little more than I hoped but was worth it.

Planning

Price

Quality

Communication